2D Semiconductor Optoelectronics: Advances, Challenges and Opportunities

TIME: 10:00am

WHEN: 5 October, 2023




​In this talk, I will present recent advancements on understanding and controlling the radiative and non-radiative recombination rates in various 2D semiconductor systems. I will discuss the mechanisms by which non-radiative recombination can be fully suppressed in TMDC monolayers, resulting in near-unity photoluminescence quantum yield at room temperature despite the presence of large defect densities. I will discuss an AC carrier injection mechanism to enable bright light emitting devices using monolayers, overcoming the problem of Schottky contacts. Finally, I will discuss potential applications for black phosphorous (BP) thin films for midwave-IR photo detection and emission. Specifically, the BP based devices are shown to exhibit higher detectivity and luminescence efficiencies over state-of-the-art III-V and II-VI devices in mid-IR, owing to the lower Auger recombination rates and surface recombination velocity.


Dr. Ali Javey is the Lam Research Distinguished Chair in Semiconductor Processing and a professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at UC Berkeley. He is also a senior faculty scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory where he serves as the program leader of Electronic Materials (E-Mat). He is a co-director of Berkeley Sensor and Actuator Center (BSAC).

Javey received a Ph.D. degree in chemistry from Stanford University in 2005 and was a Junior Fellow of the Harvard Society of Fellows from 2005 to 2006 before joining the faculty at UC Berkeley. His research interests encompass the fields of chemistry, materials science, and electrical engineering and focus on the integration of nanoscale electronic materials for various technological applications, including low power electronics, flexible circuits and sensors, and energy generation and harvesting.

Dr. Javey is an IEEE Fellow and the recipient of numerous awards, including the Dan Maydan Prize in Nanoscience Research, the MRS Outstanding Young Investigator Award, the Nano Letters Young Investigator Lectureship, the National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research, Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, IEEE Nanotechnology Early Career Award, Technology Review TR35, and the NSF Early CAREER Award.

View all events