Ilya Shadrivov

Ilya Shadrivov is a Professor at the Nonlinear Physics Centre of the Research School of Physics, the Australian National University (ANU). He has received BSc (1998) and MSc (2000) degrees in Radiophysics from Nizhny Novgorod State University, Russia, and PhD degree in Physics from the Australian National University in 2005. He held Postdoctoral Fellowship (2007), QEII Fellowship (2010) and Future Fellowship (2017) from the Australian Research Council. He is the recipient of the 2016 Pawsey Medal from the Australian Academy of Science and Geoff Opatt prize from the Australian Optical Society. Ilya is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Physics.

His main research areas include metamaterials in various frequency ranges, from microwaves to Terahertz and Optics. He leads Terahertz spectroscopy and microwave labs at the Nonlinear Physics Centre. Being one of the pioneers in the field of nonlinear metamaterials, his interests are focused mostly on tunable and nonlinear structures. He is a Vice Chair of the OSA ‘Spotlight in Optics’ and writes highlights for some of the most exciting discoveries published in the OSA journals.

View all people