Yang Yang

Yang Yang (S’11–M’14-SM’17) was born in Bayan Nur, Inner Mongolia, China and received the degrees of MEng in Telecommunications, MSc in Digital Communications and PhD in Microwave Engineering from Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering (ECSE) and Faculty of Information Technology (IT), Monash University (Clayton Campus), Melbourne, Australia, in 2007, 2008 and 2013, respectively. In 2012, Dr. Yang joined Rain Bird Australia, serving as an Asia Pacific GSP Engineer and worked in Rain Bird Corporation in Tucson, AZ, U.S.A. (during July-September 2012). In April 2015, he returned to academia, holding a position of Senior Research Associate in the field of microwave and antenna technologies, with Centre for Collaboration in Electromagnetic and Antenna Engineering at Macquarie University. In April 2016, he was appointed as a Research Fellow with State Key Laboratory of Terahertz and Millimeter Waves, City University of Hong Kong. Since December 2016, Dr. Yang joined the University of Technology Sydney (UTS), Australia. He is currently an Associate Professor and a team leader of 3D Millimetre-Wave and Terahertz Circuits and Antennas, in UTS Tech Lab. His research interests include millimetre-wave and sub-terahertz technologies in 5G and beyond, and biomedical applications. He has over 200 international peer-reviewed publications in microwave and millimetre-wave circuits and antennas Dr. Yang is a current Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, a Guest Editor of Proceedings of The IEEE (an IEEE journal with over 100 years of history) and an Area Editor of Microwave and Optical Technology Letters. He is a current Chair of MTT-S Education Resources Development, a committee member of IEEE MTT-28 Biological Effects and Medical Applications and a member of IEEE AP-S Technical Committee of Antenna Measurement. His appointments at IEEE NSW Section, Region 10, include the committee member of IEEE NSW Section, and the Chair of IEEE NSW AP/MTT Joint Chapter, the Vice-Chair of IEEE NSW Electron Devices Chapter. He also served as TPC member and session chairs of many conferences in Region 10. Dr. Yang was a winner of CST University Publication Award 2018, by CST, Dassault Systèmes. During 2017-2019, he received UTS FEIT Blue Sky Awards in the field of 3D printed microwave and millimetre-wave devices and antennas for 5G and biomedical applications. Dr Yang was the only recipient of the corporation 2014 Global GSP Success Award by Rain Bird Corporation, Tucson, U.S.A. Dr. Yang’s students received many competitive awards on the global stage, including the prestigious Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions Postdoctoral Fellowship (successful rate 10%-16%) funded by Horizon Europe Framework Programme (Dr Jingyu Lin – 2023 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Award – €220,908 (AU$340,825)). The project topic is New Design and Manufacture Technologies for High-Performance Millimetre-Wave and Terahertz Waveguide Devices for Space and Terrestrial Communications.

View all people